Book Review: Wait For You by J Lynn

“…Life wasn’t meant to be perfect. It was messy and sometimes it was a disaster, but there was beauty in the messiness and there could be peace in the disaster.”
– Wait For You by J Lynn

Check out the goodreads.com synopsis here.

Wait For You is an engaging ‘New Adult’ book by author J Lynn (who also writes YA fiction under a different pseudonym); I liked this book from the very first line.

The main character, Avery, has just moved across the country to attend university far away from her parents, hometown and the secrets she wants to leave far behind her. Hoping for a quiet, unnoticed life instead on her very first day she runs smack into Cam, the life of the party on campus and someone who just won’t let her fade from view. Romance, intrigue, heartache, comedy and changes follow suit.

In Avery’s own ‘words’, this is the story of her journey between “surviving” and becoming a “survivor” – of moving on. This isn’t just about a romance between a girl and a boy, but about the scars that trauma leaves and how we can choose to deal with them. And I think that’s why I liked it so much. That and Cam’s pet turtle.

The development of the romantic relationship was very gentle, intimate and utterly believable. Also ‘squeal’ worthy, because some of their discussions were just so wonderfully outrageous (Cam and his cookies now have some serious sway with me). This book made me want more – companion novels please! One for Cam’s roommate and one for his sister too!

So, if you want a funny, serious, butterfly inducing, read-all-night ‘New Adult’ novel to enjoy, give this title some serious consideration. The romance is tender, the narration engaging, the characters appealing and the overall result is a 4.5 rating.

Recommended for fans of Colleen Hoover or Erin McCarthy’s ‘True’.

This ARC was provided by Netgalley in exchange for a fair review.

20130421-161831.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s