It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20130422-105846.jpg

I am about to pick up two different books this week, although at this exact moment I haven’t started either yet:

1. Spirit by Brigid Kremmerer out 28th May – this is an ARC.

20130422-110404.jpg

With power comes enemies. Lots of them.

Hunter Garrity just wants to be left alone. He’s learned the hard way that his unusual abilities come at a price. And he can’t seem to afford any allies.

He’s up to his neck in hostiles. His grandfather, spoiling for a fight. The Merrick brothers, who think he ratted them out. Calla, the scheming psycho who wants to use him as bait.

Then there’s Kate Sullivan, the new girl at school. She’s not hostile. She’s bold. Funny. Hot. But she’s got an agenda, too.

With supposedly secret powers rippling to the surface everywhere around him, Hunter knows something ugly is about to go down. But finding out what means he’ll have to find someone he can trust…

2. My Favourite Mistake by Chelsea Cameron out now.

20130422-110958.jpg

Taylor Caldwell can’t decide if she wants to kiss her new college roommate or punch him.

On the one hand, Hunter Zaccadelli is a handsome, blue-eyed bundle of charm. On the other, he’s a tattooed, guitar-playing bundle of bad boy. Maybe that’s why Taylor’s afraid of falling in love with him, or anyone else. She doesn’t want to get burned, so she needs him gone before it’s too late.

Hunter himself has been burned before, but Taylor’s sexy laugh and refusal to let him get away with anything make her irresistible. Determined not to be kicked out of her life without a fight, Hunter proposes a bet: if she can convince him she truly loves or hates him, he’ll leave the apartment–and leave her alone. The problem is, the more time they spend together, the less she hates him, and the more she moves toward love.

But when the man behind Taylor’s fear of giving up her heart resurfaces, she has to decide: trust Hunter with her greatest secret, or do everything in her power to win that bet and drive him away forever.

I think I’m most looking forward to reading the New Adult title because I’ve been really impressed by some of those recently (e.g. Slammed, Wait For You), although Nick’s novella (Breathless) was wonderful and I want to hear more about his fledgling romance in Spirit.

22 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Yeah there has been some really good new adult books come out lately. I’ve got My Favourite Mistake on my TBR although this is a new cover design, which I think I like better. I loved Wait For You and can’t wait for the sequel!

  2. These both sound like great reads for the week. Totally had to add My Favorite Mistake to my trb list! I hope you enjoy both of the books for this week. Thank you so much for commenting! Have a great Monday and rest of the week!

    Reese’s @Reese’s Reviews: MA2F

  3. Eek! You’ve reminded me that I still haven’t read the first book in the Elementals series and I’ve had that for ages; really must get onto that.

    Love the sound of My Favourite Mistake, will have to see if I can get a copy.

    Have a great week and thanks for visiting me!

  4. Hi – thanks for visiting my blog. I’m being totally lazy about blog visiting…

    I’m also interested in this new genre – the new young adult (is that what it’s really called?) and hoping it’ll be relatable to me than young adult (I AM in my fifties…) I’m just delving into YA, and I think I should try harder since I work in a K-8 library.

Leave a Reply

