Book Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

Bliss Edwards is sick of being a virgin and decides the best way to deal with her problem is to lose it – by having a one-night stand. But then she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe and when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognises her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed 8 hours earlier.

20130425-173455.jpg

I am giving this book a 3.5 rating because it took me a while to start connecting with the story.

Firstly, the beginning scene where Bliss and her friend simply decide she needs to loose her virginity? Happened way too fast for me! Secondly, her initial meeting with Garrick was not convincing – he was too charming, used too many lines, moved in on her too fast. He felt slimy. It took me until three quarters of the way through the book to decide that he was actually worth Bliss’s infatuation with him (the chicken soup finally did it for me).

So let’s discuss Garrick’s character. Being English myself and reading about him constantly calling her ‘love’ and use other ‘totally English’ terms made me want to bang my head against a wall – he sounded like a grandpa. And when it came down to a choice between Bliss and his job (the central barrier that stands between him and a relationship with her) he didn’t angst over it once – she was the one who seemed worried! If you want a New Adult novel that handles the theme of teacher-student romance well read Slammed by Colleen Hoover instead.

There were glimmers of brilliance in this narrative when Bliss came out with squirm worthy realisations like “Heaven help me but I wanted my professor to be my boyfriend” and great character additions like Hamlet (I was a fan). Also I felt all of the racy scenes were really well handled, better than in most books actually – bedroom scenes can really annoy me if they’re completely unrealistic.

So, not the book I was expecting to read, not the hero I’d hoped for. Just not my cup of tea.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

  1. Sounds like a very promising premise that doesn’t quite live up to expectations…I do like the cover though.

    And thanks for stopping by my blog last week! I love that your blog tagline includes cooking too — sounds right up my alley! I’ve subscribed to your posts and look forward to checking out more of your reviews 🙂

  2. Totally see your points on the issue. I enjoyed this book somewhat. Definitely wasn’t a favorite. Hope you find a book out there you enjoy soon!

    Happy Reading from Reese’s @Reese’s Reviews: MA2F and thank you for commenting on my blog earlier this week!

Leave a Reply

