Book Review: Goddess by Josephine Angelini

After accidentally unleashing the gods from their captivity on Olympus, Helen must find a way to re-imprison them without starting a devastating war. But the gods are angry, and their thirst for blood already has a body count.

To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a diabolical Tyrant is lurking among them, which drives a wedge between the once-solid group of friends. As the gods use the Scions against one another, Lucas’s life hangs in the balance. Still unsure whether she loves him or Orion, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, for war is coming to her shores.

– goodreads.com

16146662
4.5 Stars

Okay so I LOVED the first book (my god, that ending), regretted the second book (erg, love triangle) and this one… I really enjoyed. I read it in one sitting and it redeemed this series for me because it gave me all the happy, sappy romantic endings I wanted, a huge battle scene and of course… the Greek freaking gods. Oh my. 

I came into this book a little bit blind because I had not read the other books for like a year and there are so many characters in this series. But thanks to excellent writing I found my bearings pretty quickly. It starts up right at the end of book 2, when pretty much all the Scions are still injured and in recovery mode – but fear not because as always, while lying in bed, Helen is having some pretty intriguing dreams.

You might think by this point the trilogy would have run out of new characters to throw at us, but instead we meet Andy (who is great: half-siren, independent, caring and pursued by the horny god Apollo) and Matt’s character takes on a whole new purpose in this series from the very start of this book – that was a sucker punch and a half.

This was a very fast paced book despite how often it switched between points of view (Helen’s, Lucas’, Hector’s, Andy’s, Helen’s mum’s…). This series has such well rounded, complex characters and a plot so choc-a-block with suspense and squeal worthy moments, that not matter whose point of view you’re reading, you’re hooked. I’d definitely compare it to a perfect meal – yum!

I have to say I am SO happy about how Josephine Angelini resolved the Lucas-Helen-Orion love triangle – both boys HEAs were perfect. I was a bit surprised by the openings the ending left for a possible fourth book (isn’t this a trilogy?) – nothing horrendous, just a “this may not be the end of conflict for the Scions” gap in the wrap up. Well since I actually would read a fourth book I’m okay with that and how realistic would a 100% perfect ending have been anyway? Helen and her friends were reenacting one of the biggest tragedies in Greek history.

Nope my only major regret this time around is that living in the UK I got the UK cover edition and the US one is so much better. Oh and I would have liked an epilogue for Helen’s mother – again, I smell a fourth book in the wings!

Leave a Reply

