Book Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis:

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka. Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling is a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, and leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him. But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

image

My Thoughts:

I picked up this book for its fantasy elements – Shadow and Bone introduces us to a divided country called Ravka, besieged by the myth and magic. Leigh Bardugo’s vision for Ravka felt wonderfully cohesive – with Russian sounding place names and slang, and good explanations were offered for the Shadow Fold and other anomalies.

Alina’s ‘narration’ was full of personality and wit, and terms like “miserable oaf” leap off the page. I liked Alina although at times she lacked confidence. Mal’s character was initially presented as a womaniser and it wasn’t until the last third of the novel that I started to warm up to him.

The storyline throws you a few curveballs, which was a great surprise. These stopped the story from coming across as too sedate (despite it’s slow, plodding pace) and leant depth to the novel. I enjoyed the hints of romance and the scattering of action sequences, but it was the lack of certainty which really kept me on my toes.

I am interested to see where the sequel will take us. My ‘stab-in-the-dark’ prediction: Siege and Storm will somehow feature the King’s second son who was off training in the army during the events of Shadow and Bone…

Rating: ☼☼☼☼

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. The first thing that came to mind reading your review is Star Wars. Alina being attracted to the dark side. Also with Alina not being able to forget a childhood friend when she meets reminds me of Princess Lea’s struggle between Han Solo and Luke.

    Maybe I am way off, but it does sound like a good story. A nice review! Love the detail.

  2. I’m reading this, or rather listening to this, right now and so far I’m enjoying! My favorite YA is always on the fantastical side, so Shadow and Bone is really working for me. Looking forward to finishing and picking up the second book!

  3. You thought it was slow and plodding too?! I also gave it a 4 star when I reviewed it but I agree there was a LONG chunk in there where I didn’t feel like there was much of anything going on. By the way – prediction is spot on – I agree that was obvious LOL

Leave a Reply

