Book Review: Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike

16101072

Goodreads:

Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told… Discovering that the aunt and uncle who took her in after her parents’ death may have actually been responsible for the plane crash that killed them – and that she may have been the true intended victim – she flees.

Now, Tavia is on the run with no one to trust. No one, that is, except for her best friend and crush, Benson. Tavia feels torn between the boy who mysteriously comes to her at night and the boy who has been by her side every step of the way. But what Tavia doesn’t know is that the world is literally falling apart and that to save it she will have to unite with the boy in her visions.

My Thoughts:

This is the first book I have read from Aprilynne Pike. While I did enjoy this book overall, parts of the storyline dragged somewhat – most notably the beginning, when Tavia’s still in the dark about her abilities. I also had a ‘nagging’ feeling about most of the plot twists, which spoiled their impact somewhat (I totally knew what that tattoo was about…)

Tavia was a great main character, I liked her almost immediately – she’s brave, clever, loyal, but not always great at seeing the big picture. (Apparently her sub-conscious has great survival instincts, but I’m not sure she does…) I did shake my head at her a few times. It was interesting to have Tavia narrate because not only is she suffering the after effects of a traumatic brain injury, she’s also ‘seeing things’ in dreams and in her everyday life, so you’re not sure what’s real and what’s not.

As to the romance, I wasn’t keen on Tavia’s instant feelings for the mysterious Quinn although they made sense once you got the backstory, and the Benson half of the ‘triangle’ was just okay… He goes from a best friend who calls her things like cupcake to hot stuff in a flash. The chemistry seemed a bit forced. Beyond that this was quite an emotional book and it hooked me from the start.

This was basically a ‘setting the scene’ novel that focuses on major revelations, which means I think the sequel will be the true test of whether or not this series is for me – an avid romance reader, who reads for the romance not the storyline! As far as originality, it reminded me at times of Kirsten Miller’s The Eternal Ones (which I LOVED, not sure why I haven’t read the follow up books yet), but it really is it’s own book – so points for that. The mythology aspects were really exciting and I’m looking forward to seeing these aspects further developed in future novels.

My Rating: ☼☼☼☼

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike

  1. Ooh, I have this one coming up for me. Instant love is worrying me- I hate it’s guts.

    Fab review, Annie! <33

    • It’s hard to explain without spoilers but the insta-love thing isn’t 100% applicable where Quinn is concerned… So don’t panic – just keep reading through to the end. You’ll see!

  2. I’m glad to see you enjoyed this one! I was definitely a fan of Pike’s LIFE AFTER THEFT, and have been looking forward to reading this one since. The insta-love scares me, as does the predictability regarding the plot twists and this tattoo you spoke of.

    • I’ll have to give Life After Theft a try, it sounds fun! 🙂 I love stories with mischievous ghosts – Meg Cabot’s Mediator series is one of my favourites (oh Jesse!).

  3. Aprilynne Pike is one of those authors that I see her books around a lot but so far haven’t read anything by her. This one looks interesting. Mythological elements in books are things I always like to see. Great review!

  4. I was actually pretty apathetic about this book while I was reading it. I just didn’t feel very much. I wasn’t sure if I was going to continue the series, but Quinn! I loved him and am so excited to see more of him in the next book.

Leave a Reply

