Bout of Books 9.0: Daily Recap (Updates)

Bout of Books

This was my first read-a-thon and I really enjoyed it! I’m sad that it’s now come to an end. Next time I’d like to participate in a few chats and check out more blogs; I just need to decide when my next read-a-thon event will be. If you have any suggestions please leave a comment for me!

Day 1: Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: Book Buying Spree
Reviews: 1

Flowers in the Sky (YA, 247 pages) – Lynn Joseph
4 Stars

It took 100 pages (and a move to seedy Washington Heights) to grab me, but from then on I enjoyed it! Nina’s view of the world is slightly quirky so it took me a while to connect with the narrative. Her character arc is huge – she goes from being a coddled Dominican girl to someone who can and does make her own decisions– and eighteen year old Louis was a very surprising romantic interest for her. Although there are some quite philosophical moments and the novel featured a few darker topics (e.g. drug pedlars), I wouldn’t describe it as ‘gritty’.

The most important thing of all is to live your life fully and not hold back.” – p.235

Day 2: Tuesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: Reading Tactics
Reviews: 1

The Infinite Moment of Us (YA, 318 pages) – Lauren Myracle
3.5 Stars

This novel started out really strong for me, it held so much promise; in particular I was drawn to the problems Wren had with her parents as an only child who was overprotected and Charlie’s adoption-related/family/Starrla issues. But I soon started to notice how selfish Wren was – she seemed to think Charlie should give up his family and his scholarship for her – and in the last one fifth of the novel… Okay, so I’m just going to say it: the sex spoilt it.

Feelings are like three-year-olds. They’re not rational. They’re just there.” – p.164

Day 3: Wednesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: Introduce Someone to Your Favourite Genre
Reviews: 1

Covet (Adult, 321 pages) – Tracey Garvis Graves 
4.5 Stars

This was nothing like Tracey’s first novel and it’s definitely written for an emotionally mature audience. Claire’s introduced to us at the start of the novel as a woman whose heart has been broken by her husband’s depression (“In all the years we’d been together, I’d never experienced anything quite as heart-breaking as watching the lights of my golden boy fade.” – p.72) and when she meets Daniel, someone who soothes her loneliness, she knows she risks her heart. Chris, who through the course of the novel is slowly finding his way back to himself and his family, in turn risks losing Claire through his complacency. This was a deep and intense examination of what it means to cross the distance between two people

I do think we have the capacity to love more than one person at a time, and that the love we feel for someone can be displaced, transferred, shifted. Even shared with another. But not lost. At least not forever.” – p.320

Day 4: Thursday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: Double Date Book Challenge
Reviews: 1

Where the Stars Still Shine (YA, 336 pages) – Trish Doller
4 Stars

The love interest, Alex is WAY older than Callie and in the hands of anyone else their relationship might have seemed ick, but it worked – I think because Callie was written as such a strong female character and his role in the story helped her face certain aspects of her past. The focus was definitely on Callie reassessing her relationship with her mother and forging a new future for herself – which was a pretty intense journey for her. I was disappointed by how little things were resolved with Alex after the boat trip with Evgenia (he and Callie never really talked over what happened) and that Callie never sought professional help after facing up to what Frank did.

“The store carries both new and used books, but the sections are arranged illogically. Instead of alphabetical fiction by the author’s last name and nonfiction broken into categories, the shelves are tagged with snarky labels – vampire novels that don’t suck (no pun intended), books no one should read (but you probably will anyway), and books by dead white guys.” – p.151

Day 5: Friday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: 0
Reviews: 1

These Broken Stars (YA, 374 pages) – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
4 Stars

I think it’s kind of awesome that Amie and Meagan wrote this Sci-Fi novel from 2 different sides of the planet. I loved how the chapters (dual p.o.v.) were preceeded in each case by extracts of a post-rescue interview with Tarver, as it built up the mystery and tension. Tarver and Lilac were an interesting match although I took a little while to warm up to Lilac who had the largest amount of ‘character development’ to undergo. The fantasy elements were all well thought out and integral to the plot – I really enjoyed the universe as seen through the eyes of These Broken Stars and I’m glad the authors have decided to revisit it in 2 companion novels. I was a bit disappointed that the slow build romance suddenly went from 1 mile-an-hour to 100 miles-an-hour at the end of the book though.

The world is crisp and beautiful.” – p.175

Day 6: Saturday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: 0
Reviews: 1

Leap of Faith (YA, 234 pages) – Jamie Blair

3.5 Stars

Technically there was nothing wrong with this book; the writing was exciting and had attitude. But… Faith aka Leah was impetuous (she ran off with her kid sister) and her relationship with Chris wasn’t one that I, as a reader, really shipped… There was no shippage – which is totally a personal thing, I know, but so is my rating. Then there was the cliff-hanger ending, which wasn’t really a cliff-hanger because we all know what happens next, but still it kind of sucked that we didn’t get to read about it.

We lie in silence for what seems like forever.” p.180

Day 7: Sunday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Challenges Completed: 0
Reviews: 1

13018503

The Rules for Disappearing (YA, 312 pages) – Ashley Elston
4 Stars

I enjoyed this one. The only part of the plot which didn’t ring true was Meg’s determination that if she could only find out what had landed her family in witness protection then she could get her old life back; if the US Government and her parents couldn’t fix things, what made her think she could? There’s a little bit of something for everyone in this YA: mystery, thriller, romance, action, drama – it’s all here. From high school mean girls, to younger sisters, Ashley Elston has formed a complete world with compelling scenes and a high voltage ending.

One thing you will not find in any other YA book: hog hunting. Just saying. #OriginalMaterial

Ethan leans back against the seat and turns his head toward mine. ‘Okay, blue eyes. Spill it.’’” – p.257

Total number of books I’ve read: 7/5 – goal surpassed.

Challenges I participated in: 4/2 – goal surpassed.

47 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0: Daily Recap (Updates)

    • I’m looking forward to tomorrow! (And trying to figure out my next 2 books… I’m leaning towards lining up Prophecy by Ellen Oh after Covet.)

  1. As long as you read what you can and have fun that’s what’s important!
    I wanted to pick up The Flowers in the Sky but never got the chance to, so can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    Good luck this week!

  2. These Broken Stars! That was sososo good. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂 Tarver and Lilac were an awesome pair and I really enjoyed the dual POVs. I wish I would have read it sooner, but alas.

      • I’m glad you enjoyed These Broken Stars! I can see why someone might DNF the book – Lilac was really annoying in the beginning, and the multiple POVs can be annoying for some people. Plus there isn’t much world building. But I know I really enjoyed the story and I was really into it. I can see why it received so many great reviews!

  3. Some bloggers have suggested for me to join this but I think it would put a lot of pressure on me. Hahahah. I am really bad at doing challenges so I try to keep joining them at a minimum. I see that you are really doing good in this event.

    Wow! 5 books in a week? That’s really hard. Good luck to you. I know you can do it!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I think Bout of Books is a good read-a-thon to try because you can set your own goal: number of hours reading, pages read, or books read. So it doesn’t need to ‘high’ pressure. Maybe give it a go next time around?

      • Maybe. I’ll think about it. Hahaha. I am happy to see that you enjoyed These Broken Stars. One of the best books I’ve read in 2013 despite that it wasn’t hardcore sci-fi. Hahaha.

        I am still planning to read Where the Stars Still Shine any time this year.

        Kudos to you for really faring well on this challenge. 😀

  4. Great work with all the books you’re reading! Sorry you didn’t love the Infinite Moment of Us, it’s not receiving too many lauds from what I’ve read on Goodreads and on WordPress.

  5. You’re doing awesome, keep it up! Hope you’re enjoying your first read-a-thon, it’s addictive! I stopped giving myself measured goals because inevitably life gets in the way, so I try to do more open ended things, I think 5 books in a week is fantastic and you’re almost there!

    • Thanks honey. 🙂 I’m definitely slowing down now, I’ve chosen something much shorter for my 6th book! I do like a measured goal though – it forces me to stop life getting in the way (just say no, lol).

  6. Wow, your Bout of Books is going really well! I don’t know you managed to finish so many books in a week. I would have the hardest time with that because I just can never find the time to sit down and really read a book. Congratulations on surpassing your goals. 😛

  7. Wow! You did it! I’m so impressed–I don’t think I could have stuck to that strenuous schedule. Did you read books you had wanted to read for a long time or mostly ones you thought you’d get through quickly? How many books are you trying to read this year?

  8. All these books look awesome!! I have them all on my TBR, I’m especially looking forward to Where The Stars Still Shine. Everyone seems to have loved that book, and I’m glad to hear that the heroine is a such a strong character (there’s nothing I hate more than a weak female MC).
    The only book here I have read is These Broken Stars and OMG I seriously loved that book!! I agree that the mystery and tension was really effective and I loved the interview pieces with Tarver!! I’m also really happy that one of the authors is an Aussie lol 🙂
    I haven’t done a Bout of Books before, but it sounds like you had heaps of fun with it!! 😀

    • I did; you should definitely try the next event! 🙂 TBS was interesting, I’m hoping to read a lot more YA Sci-Fi this year because that was a really great start for me.

Leave a Reply

