Book Review: Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

17571215

Synopsis:

After Quinn lost her boyfriend in an accident their junior year, she reached out to the recipients of his donated organs – but the person who received Trent’s heart never replied to her letter. So, going outside of the system, Quinn tracks down nineteen-year-old Colton Thomas… She just wants to see him from afar… but an accidental interaction with Colton sparks an undeniable attraction.

Review:

I was given this title to review in ARC format, via Edelweiss.

Jessi Kirby writes beautifully and she gives us a flawless portrayal of Quinn’s grief. I was gripped from the very first scene by the raw emotion displayed in this novel; Jessi Kirby makes no attempt to shield her readers from the nitty gritty of loss.

IMG_1984

I felt the romantic aspects of this novel were somewhat weaker by comparison – a bit ‘tepid’ – although I liked the way Quinn’s relationship with Colton slowly developed. Their interactions were cute and Colton’s commitment to living his life (independent of his medical handicaps), encouraged Quinn to re-engage with the world.

I really appreciated the heart-themed extracts at the start of each chapter – the ones towards the beginning of the novel explained the ins and outs of organ donation, so were quite informative.

IMG_1986

Final Word:

This novel has a great protagonist with a strong voice, who readers will instantly connect with, even though she does make some questionable choices.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby

  1. I expected a bit more from this novel. I thought I would FEEL so much for the characters, so when i simply liked it (without feeling a connection at all, really), I was a little bit disappointed.

    I felt that Quinn should have been upfront about everything from the beginning, and I’m glad that when Colton found out there wasn’t a HUGE blowup.

    I did like the way Kirby wrote Quinn’s struggle with her grief, and that was probably one of my favourite aspects of this book.

    I’m glad you liked it, Annette! 😀

    • Thanks Chiara. I think I might have been more into the romance aspect of the book if Colton had been given his own POV, so I totally see your issue. Sorry this one wasn’t quite as strong a read as you’d expected!

Leave a Reply

