Mini Book Review: Star Flight by Melissa Landers 

img_0199

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She’s so desperate to reach the realm that she’s willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he’s been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe… 

I love YA sci-fi, so it’s funny that this was my first ML read. I don’t think it will be my last though, especially since there’s going to be a sequel to Star Flight!

This first book introduces us to an eclectic set of characters, all with their own backstories and arch-nemesises, which made this an addictive and action-packed adventure – from the half-robotic captain, to a runaway Princess, Solara’s new flight companions are quite the motley crew and even pampered Doran was kind of entertaining when taken out of his element and dumped onto a clunky old frigate of a spaceship.

Book Strengths: a gutsy heroine, wicked BANTER, laugh out loud moments, the chemistry, the intrigue, armed spaceships a la Star Wars, PIRATES who hold duals and offer to parlay! An interesting but unlikely twist at the end… The book even briefly paid homage to Firefly (does anyone not love Joss Whedon?!), with a set of crazy, blood-thirsty, metal pierced assassins cast as the scary bad guys of space.

Pet Peeve: We didn’t really get any resolutions to the main characters’ problems, which meant this book was very much an ‘intro’. The only thing this book really achieved was to deliver a romance and set up the world/characters for book two…

13 thoughts on “Mini Book Review: Star Flight by Melissa Landers 

  1. Solara was just so badass and her banter with Dorian was just yes. I felt the same about the lack of resolution but hopefully it’ll all be in book 2. Can’t wait for it 😀

  2. When I was reading the first bit of your review here, Firefly was the first thing that popped into my head thinking of an eclectic cast of characters on a ship and the Reavers!! I liked authors who are aware enough to know comparisons will be made because they’re also aware enough to make their books different and/or embrace bits of the comparisons.

  3. I don’t know why I didn’t pay much attention to this book when I saw it around, but it sounds like a book that I would really enjoy. I don’t think I’ll have an issue with the intro aspect too, as I don’t mind my series books, and the set up of the romance sounds great too. Thanks for putting this book on my radar, also I seen that you read a copy of Summer Skin, I can’t wait until my copy arrives!

  4. I’ve heard some pretty good thins about Melissa Landers’ other books, so I’m not surprised that this one ended up being a good read for you!

    I absolutely want to read it now, after your review. I ADORE Firefly, and if there’s a homage to that show in here, then I know it’s a book for me. And pirates are awesome in any book, so the fact that there’s space pirates in this is just a huge plus.

    It’s a shame that it felt more like an intro then the first book in a series, but hopefully that means the second book will have more resolution!

  5. I don’t read a lot of “space books,” but I really enjoyed this one. It has a similar premise to Stitching Snow, but is much better in my opinion. I agree that there’s definitely a lot more left to the story though.

    • I remember really enjoying Stitching Snow actually and I keep meaning to read the companion novel to that one… It’s cool that you’ve read that book as well!

  6. I had wanted to read this book, but now that I see it’s part of a series, I don’t know if I want to commit. I’m also confused as to how a high school quarterback gets accused of conspiracy. It seems a little far-fetched.

Leave a Reply

