Waiting on Wednesday: Sweet by Erin McCarthy

20130612-000714

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated!

20130924-223830.jpg

Jessica has never had a problem getting naked with a guy, but when it comes to showing Riley how she truly feels inside, her fear of rejection may just ruin the best thing—the best guy—to ever happen to her…

Jessica Sweet thought going away to college would finally make her free of her parents’ constant judgments and insistence she play chastity club role model for their church events, but if anything, the freedom has made her realize she can’t go home and be a hypocrite anymore. Tired of dodging their questions, she stays at school over the summer and lands in an unexpected crash pad: Riley Mann’s house.

Sarcastic, cocky, and full of opinions, Riley is also sexy personified with tattoos and biceps earned from working as a roofer all day. Not the right guy for her even if Jessica was looking for a relationship, which she is definitely not. But Jessica knows that Riley hides the burden of having to raise his younger brothers behind that grin and as she helps him get his house in order for a custody hearing, they begin to fall hard for each other, and she is forced to question what she’s hiding herself.

Why I’m Excited:

This New Adult Contemporary title is releasing October 9th 2013 from Penguin’s digital imprint InterMix.

This is a companion novel to Erin’s first New Adult novel True, which I loved, and which ended too soon. Sweet might not be coming out in paperback just yet or have much hype right now, but it’s on my pre-order list (as an eBook) anyway – give this series a chance and it won’t disappoint you.

28 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Sweet by Erin McCarthy

  1. I’ve heard quite a lot of this author somehow but her books aren’t really my type.

    Thanks for sharing, Annie! <33

  2. Ahh, I wanted to read True back when it came out, but then my bestie, who happens to know me very well, declared that I wouldn’t like it and would in fact be severely annoyed so I steered clear. Perhaps I was wrong to do so, if nothing else, I do love companion novels. AND the covers are gorgeous.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Besties knows us well. Book tastes are really personal, so to put mine in perspective I really enjoyed J Lynn’s Wait For You, but Beautiful Disaster annoyed me… 🙂 Take from that what you can.
      Yes, love the artwork for this series!

  3. I liked True, and am definitely excited to check out Sweet! Hope we both love it when we get the chance to read it. Sweet and True are from Penguin’s digital InterMix line- still considered big publishing I think 🙂 Great pick!

Leave a comment